Federal Holidays

2014

Wednesday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 20 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 17* Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 26 Memorial Day
Friday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, September 1 Labor Day
Monday, October 13 Columbus Day
Tuesday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 27 Thanksgiving Day
Thursday, December 25 Christmas Day

 

2015

Thursday, January 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, January 19 Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.
Monday, February 16* Washington’s Birthday
Monday, May 25 Memorial Day
Friday, July 3* Independence Day
Monday, September 7 Labor Day
Monday, October 12 Columbus Day
Wednesday, November 11 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 26 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, December 25 Christmas Day

 

* When a federal holiday falls on a Saturday, it is usually observed on the preceding Friday. When the holiday falls on a Sunday, it is usually observed on the following Monday.

There are ten annual U.S. federal holidays on the calendar designated by the United States Congress. Unlike many other countries, there are no ‘national holidays’ in the United States because Congress only has authority to create holidays for federal institutions. Most federal holidays are also observed as state holidays. Bank holidays are usually the same as federal holidays since most banks follow the holiday calendar of the U.S. Federal Reserve. They tend to use the modern President’s Day for the observance of George Washington’s Birthday.